Archive for January 19th, 2008

h1

Hero’s

January 19, 2008

dsc01087.jpgEveryone has hero’s of faith in their lives. This is a picture of one of my hero’s of faith. He’s a wonderful author, speaker and encourager to me: Dr. Johnny Hunt.

dsc01088.jpgThis is another picture of one of my friends, encourager and hero of the faith. Dr Fred Lowery and his wife Leigh with Jill and me.

h1

Refreshed

January 19, 2008

Today, Jill and I returned from a retreat that you guys sent us on in Toledo Bend at the Cypress Bend Resort in Many, LA. What a great time to relax and reflect on ministry. I was so encouraged to be around some of my mentors and hero’s ; Dr. Fred Lowery and Dr. Johnny Hunt.

There were lessons on relationships, insecure leaders – a ministry headache and the pastor and his resume (spiritual resume). Let me give you some one and two liners that I thought were great!

– If your community is growing and your church is not growing, it is either plateauing or declining.

– The reason why we think our people have become pathetic is because we (preachers) have become pathetic in our preaching. We need to be on FIRE!

– There is no greater need in your life than to stay close and clean.

– We want change without change. When the pain of staying the same becomes greater than staying the same – you’ll change.

– The question isn’t is it contemporary or traditional it’s: IS IT BIBLICAL?